Driving Safety Courses

Driving Safety Course Eligibility and Requirements:
If you are charged with a traffic offense under Subtitle C of the Texas Transportation Code, you may be eligible to take a driving safety course (defensive driving / DSC) on ONE of the moving violations shown on the citation you were issued. You may not take a driving safety course without first obtaining permission from the Court.   Pursuant to state law, your request must be made on or before the response date on your citation or within 20 days from the date the citation was issued to you, whichever is later. (We allow a ten (10) business day grace period before you are rendered ineligible.)

Please note that you are NOT ELIGIBLE to take a driving safety course for the moving violation if you:
  • Were speeding 25 mph or more above the posted speed limit or at a speed of 95 mph or greater.
  • Do not have a valid Texas driver’s license (exception for active military and/or spouse of active military)
  • Do not have current Texas liability insurance on either yourself and/or the vehicle you were cited in
  • Have requested and completed a driving safety course within the last twelve (12) months
  • Are currently taking the course for another traffic violation
  • Hold a commercial driver’s license, even if you were driving a non-commercial vehicle
  • Are charged with one of the following sections of the Transportation Code;
    • Sec. 472.022 – Construction zone when workers are present
    • Sec. 545.066 – Passing a school bus 
    • Sec. 545.401 – Reckless driving 
    • Sec. 545.421 – Fleeing/Eluding police officers 
    • Sec. 550.022 – Fleeing the scene of an accident 
    • Sec. 550.023 – Failing to stop and give information and/or render aid 
    • Sec. 522.003 – Serious traffic violations
REQUEST TO TAKE A DRIVING SAFETY COURSE:  
Once you have read the requirements and determined that you are eligible, you may request to take a driving safety course to dismiss your moving violation either in person, by mail, or by fax / e-mail.

You MUST pay the required cost (state fees) in FULL. Payment plans are not allowed.

  • Court cost/Admin fee for non-school zone violations:  $114.10
  • Court cost/Admin fee for violations committed in a school zone:  $139.10 
APPEARING IN PERSON:
  • Bring with you the court cost (state fees) listed above due for your type of offense, your valid Texas driver’s license or active military ID, and valid proof of financial responsibility (vehicle liability insurance).
  • You will sign your driving safety course affidavit before the Clerk and you will be given a defensive driving packet with instructions on how to go about taking your course and ordering your driving record. 
  • DO NOT sign up for a driving safety course or order your driving record until you have paid your fees and signed your affidavit at the Court.
  • The clerk will inform you of the date that your signed driving safety course completion certificate and certified copy of your driving record (TYPE 3A) from DPS is due back in the Court. That date will be ninety (90) days from the date you requested and signed your driving safety course affidavit. (The Court allows a ten (10) business day grace period to submit these documents to the Court as long as the course was completed timely, on or before the due date.)
  • Failure to return the required certificate and driving record will result in a show cause hearing before the Judge. Failure to appear for your show cause hearing will result in a conviction on the offense, imposition of a fine, and a warrant for your arrest.
REQUESTING BY MAIL:
  • Mail in the completed signed NOTARIZED form, a copy of your valid Texas driver’s license or active military ID, a copy of your valid proof of financial responsibility (vehicle liability insurance card), and a money order/ cashier’s check for the court cost (state fees) listed above due for your type of offense. 
  • DO NOT sign up for a driving safety course or order your driving record until you have mailed your fees and request form to the Court.  The Judge recommends that you call the Court office to make sure we received your paperwork and everything was in order.  The Court office number is (409) 769-7452.
  • Within ninety (90) days from the date you mailed in your driving safety course request, you MUST return to the Court a valid signed driving safety course completion certificate and a TYPE 3A certified copy of your driving record. (The Court allows a ten (10) business day grace period to submit these documents to the Court as long as the course was completed timely, on or before the due date.)
Failure to return the required certificate and driving record will result in a show cause hearing before the Judge. Failure to appear for your show cause hearing will result in a conviction on the offense, imposition of a fine, and a warrant for your arrest.
 
REQUESTING ELECTRONICALLY:
  • DO NOT sign up for a driving safety course or order your driving record until have filed your affidavit and paid your fees.  Failure to follow the instructions listed below could render you ineligible to take a driving safety course to dismiss your violation. 
  • Before you can make your payment online or by telephone, you MUST e-mail or fax us the NOTARIZED copy of your driving safety course request form, a copy of your valid Texas driver’s license or active military ID, and a copy of your valid proof of financial responsibility (vehicle liability insurance card). 
  • You MUST call or e-mail us to verify that we have received your paperwork BEFORE paying your fees online or by telephone.  Once you have verified that we have received your paperwork and everything is approved,  then you shall immediately make your payment online or by telephone. 
    • When paying online via The Payment Group at www.VidorPayments.com, you MUST click EDIT to enter the correct payment amount due to the Court for your fees (the $114.10 or $139.10). When calling The Payment Group, 1-800-444-1187, to make your payment, it is your responsibility to give the operator the correct payment amount.



      • Do NOT subtract the processing fee or tax charged by The Payment Group from the amount of your payment to the Court. That fee is in addition to the Court payment.
    • Failure to pay the correct amount will result in rejection of your DSC request. 
  • Within ninety (90) days from the date you mailed in your driving safety course request, you MUST return to the Court a valid signed driving safety course completion certificate and a TYPE 3A certified copy of your driving record. (The Court allows a ten (10) business day grace period to submit these documents to the Court as long as the course was completed timely, on or before the due date.) Remember, your due date is in 90 days, not 3 months. Be sure to count out 90 days or call the Court for the due date.
  • Failure to return the required certificate and driving record will result in a show cause hearing before the Judge. Failure to appear for your show cause hearing will result in a conviction on the offense, imposition of a fine, and a warrant for your arrest.

Court Staff

Presiding Judge Michael Abbott
Presiding Judge

Judge Michael Abbott


 Chief Clerk of the Court

Katrina Smith, CMCCII


 Deputy Clerk / JCM 

Carla Flanigan 


Deputy Clerk

Ashley Thibodeaux

Contact Us

City of Vidor
Municipal Court
1330 First Street
Vidor, TX 77662
Telephone: (409) 769-7452
Fax #: (409) 769-5712

Deputy Clerk / JCM:

Office Hours:
Monday thru Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.